Image

Latest Posts

Album Review: The 1975 – Notes on a Conditional Form
8
1 month ago

Album Review: The 1975 – Notes on a Conditional Form

By  •  Reviews

In the age of music as content, churned out to fill playlists on streaming services, the album has had a bit of a crisis. What’s the point of arranging songs this way if they don’t have to fit onto a disc with a limited amount of space? The responses to this question have been varied but, as a trend, albums have become more bloated. R&B superstar Drake’s 2018 album Scorpion is an excellent example of an album dragged to nearly an hour and a half long to provide as many playlist-ready tracks as possible. The lengthy double-album is nothing new, of course, but these days an artist doesn’t tend to release one to make an artistic statement – like Bob Dylan’s Blonde on Blonde or The Beatles’ White Album – so much as to have as much content to satisfy the greedy streaming ecosystem. More alternative musicians may have a higher motive – Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ masterpiece Ghosteen was a double LP for a clear artistic reason – but for the most part popular music pursues length for the sake of it. 
Read More

Album Review: Pet Shop Boys – Hotspot
7
1 month ago

Album Review: Pet Shop Boys – Hotspot

You return home, slowly locking the door behind you. Your ears still ringing, you make your way upstairs. Collapsing onto your bed, the same ringing that was once a comfort on your journey home now pierces the silence. High on the euphoria of the evening, you place your headphones on and search for the perfect album to play. Do you feel lonely? Or is it just the contrast of being surrounded by people and now being alone? You don’t know, but the evening now leaves a bitter taste. You decide on the B-side of Please. No- Bilingual. No- Elysium. You can’t decide. Further searching presents to you option D: Hotspot.
Read More

Album Review: Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – Ghosteen
10
3 months ago

Album Review: Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – Ghosteen

By  •  Reviews

Since September 2018, Nick Cave has been communicating with his fans through the Red Hand Files, a website now home to over ninety funny, beautiful and insightful letters from the seasoned Australian bard. The sixth issue of the Red Hand Files sees Cave answer a fan’s question about communicating with the dead. “I have experienced the death of my father, my sister, and my first love in the past few years and feel that I have some communication with them, mostly through dreams,” the question begins. “They are helping me. Are you and (your wife) Susie feeling that your son Arthur is with you and communicating in some way?” “I feel the presence of my son, all around, but he may not be there,” Cave responds. “These spirits are ideas, essentially. They are our stunned imaginations reawakening after the calamity. Like ideas, these spirits speak of possibility. Follow your ideas, because on the other side of the idea is change and growth and redemption.”
Read More

Album Review: Tame Impala – The Slow Rush
8
3 months ago

Album Review: Tame Impala – The Slow Rush

By  •  Reviews

The booklet for The Slow Rush – the latest album from the Australian psych-pop project Tame Impala – consists of the song lyrics scrawled over a calendar from 1992. This is just one of the many ways Kevin Parker’s fourth album as Tame Impala is obsessed with time. The album’s playfully oxymoronic title is another obvious one, but from the opening track One More Year to the closing song One More Hour, The Slow Rush is immersed in time.
Read More

Club Rockhaq 2020 kicks off!
5 months ago

Club Rockhaq 2020 kicks off!

By  •  News

We had a great start to this year’s Club Rockhaq workshops just over a week ago. Nearly all places are now fully booked too. Read on to find out more about what happened and how you can get involved.
Our first workshop of 2020 kicked off with a thorough review-planning and writing session. Last year we had some great music being covered in our reviews and we’re pleased to see a very wide range of artists being covered again. So what happened?
Read More

Album Review: Björk – Vulnicura
10
5 months ago

Album Review: Björk – Vulnicura

On the plastic sleeve for the vinyl of Vulnicura, computer generated and mutating, Björk lies with her back stretching over a rock. A crevice splitting her chest, she is the embodiment of pain. As if all of nature’s might has physically and emotionally cracked her in two. Broken and bleeding, she holds her mouth ajar, a silent scream hits you as hard as the rock that surrounds her. It’s one of the most visceral and daring album covers in her discography and, now five years old, it remains one of the most visceral and daring albums of her career.
Read More

Club Rockhaq November & Book for 2020!
8 months ago

Club Rockhaq November & Book for 2020!

By  •  News

Check out what took place at Club Rockhaq in November and book your place for 2020. Back in May, we invited Leicester’s number one standup comic Rob Gee to impart his poetic wisdom upon our Rockhaq writers. During that workshop we had everything from the apocalypse to goth unicorns making an appearance! 🖤🦄 We asked Rob to come back to our November workshops a few weeks ago and weave his lyrical magic once more. So what happened this time?
Read More

Album Review: Kanye West – Jesus is King
2
8 months ago

Album Review: Kanye West – Jesus is King

By  •  Reviews

There are few statements less controversial than the statement that Kanye West is controversial. Whilst known for stirring up trouble throughout his career, Kanye’s – to put it lightly – irreverent public behaviour has reached its pinnacle in recent years. Most notably, he’s an outspoken supporter of Donald Trump (who, just so we’re on the same page here, is a very bad person) and has said some remarkably awful things regarding slavery in particular. It makes one long for the days when the worst thing Kanye did was be rude to Taylor Swift.
Read More

Live Review: King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – London Alexandra Palace, 5 October 2019
10
9 months ago

Live Review: King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – London Alexandra Palace, 5 October 2019

By  •  Reviews

Despite having been a fan since 2016’s Nonagon Infinity, before last weekend I had yet to see King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard live. The Aussie psych-rockers’ gigs are infamous for their energy and intensity and photos of injured limbs aren’t exactly infrequent posts on their Reddit page. On 5th October, the band played their biggest show yet at Alexandra Palace, selling out all 10 000 tickets for the London venue. One of those 10 000 was me, seeing not only Gizz for the first time but any band away from the safety of Leicester De Montfort Hall balcony or the polite middle-class crowd of Greenbelt Festival. Let’s just say I’d thrown myself in at the deep end.
Read More

Club Rockhaq October 2019
9 months ago

Club Rockhaq October 2019

By  •  News

Summer is well and truly over – and don’t we know it? But thankfully our Club Rockhaq students are still shining a light on all things to do with music, reviews, lyrics and creative writing. We came back in September and have all worked on reviewing the same song. We’ve never done this before.
This has been going on for the past two workshops and some students have already finished. One student finished his whole review in one workshop. Just goes to show that some learning is happening at Club Rockhaq and we don’t just sit around and talk about (or eat) food 😀😋
Read More