Image

Latest Posts

Club Rockhaq November & Book for 2020!
2 weeks ago

Club Rockhaq November & Book for 2020!

By  •  News

Check out what took place at Club Rockhaq in November and book your place for 2020. Back in May, we invited Leicester’s number one standup comic Rob Gee to impart his poetic wisdom upon our Rockhaq writers. During that workshop we had everything from the apocalypse to goth unicorns making an appearance! 🖤🦄 We asked Rob to come back to our November workshops a few weeks ago and weave his lyrical magic once more. So what happened this time?
Read More

Album Review: Kanye West – Jesus is King
2
3 weeks ago

Album Review: Kanye West – Jesus is King

By  •  Reviews

There are few statements less controversial than the statement that Kanye West is controversial. Whilst known for stirring up trouble throughout his career, Kanye’s – to put it lightly – irreverent public behaviour has reached its pinnacle in recent years. Most notably, he’s an outspoken supporter of Donald Trump (who, just so we’re on the same page here, is a very bad person) and has said some remarkably awful things regarding slavery in particular. It makes one long for the days when the worst thing Kanye did was be rude to Taylor Swift.
Read More

Live Review: King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – London Alexandra Palace, 5 October 2019
10
2 months ago

Live Review: King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – London Alexandra Palace, 5 October 2019

By  •  Reviews

Despite having been a fan since 2016’s Nonagon Infinity, before last weekend I had yet to see King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard live. The Aussie psych-rockers’ gigs are infamous for their energy and intensity and photos of injured limbs aren’t exactly infrequent posts on their Reddit page. On 5th October, the band played their biggest show yet at Alexandra Palace, selling out all 10 000 tickets for the London venue. One of those 10 000 was me, seeing not only Gizz for the first time but any band away from the safety of Leicester De Montfort Hall balcony or the polite middle-class crowd of Greenbelt Festival. Let’s just say I’d thrown myself in at the deep end.
Read More

Club Rockhaq October 2019
2 months ago

Club Rockhaq October 2019

By  •  News

Summer is well and truly over – and don’t we know it? But thankfully our Club Rockhaq students are still shining a light on all things to do with music, reviews, lyrics and creative writing. We came back in September and have all worked on reviewing the same song. We’ve never done this before.
This has been going on for the past two workshops and some students have already finished. One student finished his whole review in one workshop. Just goes to show that some learning is happening at Club Rockhaq and we don’t just sit around and talk about (or eat) food 😀😋
Read More

Album Review: Bon Iver – i,i
9
3 months ago

Album Review: Bon Iver – i,i

By  •  Reviews

Justin Vernon’s Bon Iver has always been driven by progress. His 2007 debut For Emma, Forever Ago began in minimalist isolation, rarely straying from the core combination of Vernon’s voice and acoustic guitar. Four years later, the self-titled sophomore album expanded into a more grandiose and atmospheric sound, propelled by a host of brass performers mixed elegantly into the compositions. Then, following several collaborations with hip-hop innovator Kanye West, Vernon released the audaciously experimental 22, A Million.
Read More

Album Review: Steely Dan – Gaucho
10
4 months ago

Album Review: Steely Dan – Gaucho

Speaking about Aja, Steely Dan’s sixth album, guitarist Dean Parks said of Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, “perfection is not what they’re after, they’re after something that you wanna listen to.” No other quote encapsulates the music of Steely Dan better. Indeed, on Aja, as evidenced by its sales, they really did find something you wanna listen to and, arguably, found perfection. It is what Parks said next that hits true poignancy in regards to Aja’s follow up: “… we would go past the perfection point until it became natural.” 1980’s Gaucho is evidence of what a Steely Dan album sounds like when it stops just before perfection- the sound of a band desperately striving for flawlessness but ending up with a finished product on the wrong side of their goal.
Read More

Album Review: The Flaming Lips – The Soft Bulletin
10
4 months ago

Album Review: The Flaming Lips – The Soft Bulletin

By  •  Reviews

The wonderful thing about The Flaming Lips is their ability to be profound without sounding pretentious. Unlike, for example, some of the prog-rock bands of the ‘70s, whose big themes often got lost in dense mysticism, The Flaming Lips remain down-to-earth. In recent years their personality has arguably become a little tacky and directionless, sounding more like a random quirky word generator than a band. However, at their peak, The Flaming Lips were able to ground their existentialism in accessible idiosyncrasies. Twenty years ago, they achieved this balance to perfection. Presenting life in all its beauty and heartbreak, with gorgeous melodies and lush instrumentation to match the richness of its themes, The Soft Bulletin remains the band’s crowning achievement.
Read More

Club Rockhaq June 2019
6 months ago

Club Rockhaq June 2019

By  •  News

We thought we wouldn’t be able to top the excitement of all our recent BBC coverage – Michelle was interviewed in April and Club Rockhaq was live on air in May – but we did! Firstly, one of our most prolific Community writers Mark Wong led a surprise Club Rockhaq workshop at Leicester Central Library last week. Mark is now teaching English in Vietnam so made a super special flying visit to a selected group of Club Rockhaq writers.
Read More

Album Review: David Byrne – David Byrne
8
6 months ago

Album Review: David Byrne – David Byrne

In 1994, listeners got a tantalisingly brief glimpse at the real David Byrne, one they would have to wait a decade to witness again. On his self-titled album, Byrne raised the veil slightly; just enough to let his most personal song writing to date into the world.
Read More

BBC Radio Leicester at Club Rockhaq in May
7 months ago

BBC Radio Leicester at Club Rockhaq in May

Yes, you read that right! After our interview with the lovely Rupal Rajani on BBC Radio Leicester in April, she sent “roving reporter” Dale Neal to our May Club Rockhaq workshop. This meant our Oadby Library workshop went out live on Rupal’s Saturday morning show. And if that wasn’t enough, we had all-round smashing chap Rob Gee visit to impart his lyrical wisdom upon the two library groups. We’re really not sure how we’re going to top this, going forward. It all made for an action-packed month that resulted in songs on various topics – from the apocalypse to goth unicorns! 🖤🦄
Read More