Image

Reviews

Music reviews of bands and artists from Rockhaq

Album Review: David Byrne – Look Into the Eyeball
10
1 week ago

Album Review: David Byrne – Look Into the Eyeball

Before you go into this review looking for a objective, neutral and fair evaluation of one of David Byrne’s late-career albums, an album you’ve probably never heard of but are willing to read a decent appraisal of, in a fashion that lays out the facts bare and for all to see so that you, the reader, can form your own opinion as to whether to listen to it based on the review – before you’ve done all that, be warned:
Read More

Album Review: Suede – The Blue Hour
8
2 weeks ago

Album Review: Suede – The Blue Hour

By  •  Reviews

Ever since reforming in 2010, ’90s legends Suede have been on an absolute roll. After re-establishing their place in the alt-rock scene with 2013’s Bloodsports, the band then moved slightly left field for 2016’s Night Thoughts, resulting in their most acclaimed album since 1994’s Dog Man Star. Now Suede are back to complete their comeback triptych with The Blue Hour. During its promotion, the band hinted this record would be an even deeper dive into their experimental side, embracing their typically dark themes with extra indulgence. Given the success this formula brought Night Thoughts, it was an exciting prospect. Few bands have been so consistently great this late in their career. Could Suede make the hat-trick?
Read More

Album Review: Pet Shop Boys – Behaviour
10
3 weeks ago

Album Review: Pet Shop Boys – Behaviour

“It’s about the problem of being monogamous; wanting to be in a loving and monogamous relationship but being tempted away from it.” In a 1990 interview regarding their latest single So Hard, Neil Tennant just happened to fall on the best description of their latest album in the process.
Read More

Album Review: Björk- Utopia
9
4 weeks ago

Album Review: Björk- Utopia

In 2015, Björk was heartbroken.
Vulnicura was an album of pure heartbreak. Björk’s most lyrically direct and distressing work to date. It was the sound of an artist who could seem so God-like, crashing down to earth. Hard. It was a hard album to listen to at times as a result. But I have no reservations in saying it was Björk’s best album.
Read More

Album Review: Frank Ocean – Blonde
8
1 month ago

Album Review: Frank Ocean – Blonde

By  •  Reviews

When Frank Ocean provided vocals on Tyler, the Creator’s She, a weird track about a guy dealing with his new girlfriend’s stalker, I never thought that the owner of those silky-smooth tones would go on to be the undisputed king of avant-garde R&B.
Read More

Album Review: Idles – Brutalism
9
1 month ago

Album Review: Idles – Brutalism

By  •  Reviews

With a title like Brutalism, you could be forgiven for expecting a sonic assault from Idles. Despite what the name of the album might suggest, the Bristol five piece’s debut album doesn’t dip its toes into the hardcore and metal genres. Instead, the title seems to be in reference to subject matter, which deals with the current state of the country.
Read More

Album Review: XTC – English Settlement
10
1 month ago

Album Review: XTC – English Settlement

Almost exactly three and a half minutes into Runaways, the first track on XTC’s magnum opus English Settlement, the guitars become hushed and lone piano notes drop as if into oblivion. It’s one of many moments of sheer brilliance that litter all of the fifteen songs on the record. They act as lily pads in ponds of circling 12-string guitars, off kilter drum patterns and pan-optic lyrics.
Read More

Album Review: Mac Miller – Swimming
8
1 month ago

Album Review: Mac Miller – Swimming

By  •  Reviews

During the summer between leaving college and heading to university, I ended up taking a paper round out of boredom and desperation for money. That lackadaisical summer was spent pedalling around Leicester, delivering newspapers and exploring my taste in music for the first time ever. The biggest revelation was that I enjoyed rap and hip-hop, which was born from my discovery of an up and coming artist called Mac Miller.
Read More

EP Review: Sick Ones – Find Energy
10
1 month ago

EP Review: Sick Ones – Find Energy

By  •  Reviews

Hardcore punk. When you hear those words, what do you think of? Some may think of tiny venues with insane mosh pits and sweat trickling down the walls. Others may think of hardcore legends such as Black Flag, Bad Brains and Misfits. When I hear these words, after having seen them support Dead Kennedys at the 02 Academy in Oxford, all I can think of is Sick Ones.
Read More

Album Review: Hobo Johnson – The Rise of Hobo Johnson
7
2 months ago

Album Review: Hobo Johnson – The Rise of Hobo Johnson

By  •  Reviews

I found Hobo Johnson via a friend on Facebook, who had been tagged in the comments section of a Lad Bible post about his single Peach Scones (I can’t stand the page, but I guess I should be grateful for the recommendation). Like everyone else in the comments section, I couldn’t decide whether it was a joke or not; and if it was, whether we were laughing at Hobo Johnson or whether he was laughing at us. I still don’t know.
Read More