Image
ASK ABOUT OUR NEW ROCKHAQ ACADEMY PROGRAMME!

Reviews

Music reviews of bands and artists from Rockhaq

Album Review: Ty Segall – Freedom’s Goblin
9
3 weeks ago

Album Review: Ty Segall – Freedom’s Goblin

By  •  Reviews

With the advent of CDs and digital downloads, the significance of making a double album has diminished dramatically. Nowadays, artists can flippantly string together 90-minute projects and it’s no big deal. In fact, the reaction to an album that long is frequently an exhausted groan. Whilst there’s always been the risk of a double album running out of steam, it’s so easy to make one these days that artists regularly stretch out 40-minutes of content for the sake of it. Prolific American garage rocker Ty Segall is changing that.
Read More

Album Review: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Gumboot Soup
8
1 month ago

Album Review: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Gumboot Soup

By  •  Reviews

They actually did it. King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – the famously mad Melbourne psych rockers – put out five studio albums in 2017. Released on New Year’s Eve, Gumboot Soup – the fifth and final record – made it into last year by the skin of its teeth. I’ll admit, I was sceptical about this one. Their previous album, the incredible Polygondwanaland, already felt like the year’s creative peak. As a result, I was concerned the final release was going to sound like a hastily tacked on extra.
Read More

Album Review: Beyonce – Lemonade
8
1 month ago

Album Review: Beyonce – Lemonade

By  •  Reviews

I will hold my hands up now, I am by no means a Beyonce fan. This review won’t refer to her previous work because I’ve never really listened to any of it. The singles I’ve heard on the radio always seemed to encapsulate all the things I didn’t like about pop & R&B music. On the surface, it seemed overproduced, soulless, with a chorus cooked up in a boardroom to sink a hook into your brain and never let go rather than through genuine experience. Beyonce always had the talent to elevate its artistic standard, but there was none of her experience in the music. Lemonade changes everything I thought I knew about Beyonce.
Read More

Live Review: Seaway, Woes + Lizzy Farrall @ The Bodega Nottingham, 11 Jan 2018
9
1 month ago

Live Review: Seaway, Woes + Lizzy Farrall @ The Bodega Nottingham, 11 Jan 2018

By  •  Reviews

Seaway are a common sight in the UK, visiting frequently to tour with all the up and coming pop punk bands. As their sound has diversified with the release of Vacation so too have their touring mates.
Read More

Album Review: Mac Demarco – This Old Dog
10
1 month ago

Album Review: Mac Demarco – This Old Dog

By  •  Reviews

Time comes for us all, forcing us to grow up. It comes for the athlete, the geek, and even the carefree prankster. On his third full-length album This Old Dog, indie rock icon and all-round slacker Mac Demarco takes a more introspective approach to his craft, as his age finally starts to show.
Read More

Single Review: Wham! – Last Christmas
10
2 months ago

Single Review: Wham! – Last Christmas

By  •  Reviews

The end of 2017 is almost on the horizon, which means one thing: Christmas is officially here. I always get happy around this time of year because there’s the opportunity to spend at least one day with your family. One of the reasons why everyone should fully embrace this wonderful holiday is that it gives you the excuse to scroll through your music collection and play some of the best Christmas songs ever.
Read More

Album Review: Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built the Moon?
7
2 months ago

Album Review: Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built the Moon?

By  •  Reviews

I have to confess, I’m not the biggest Oasis fan. I like their first two albums Definitely Maybe and (What’s the Story) Morning Glory? for what they are, but I’ve always found Oasis the least inspired of the Britpop big four. Despite this, I do enjoy Noel Gallagher’s solo work under the High Flying Birds moniker.
Read More

Album Review: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Polygondwanaland
9
3 months ago

Album Review: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Polygondwanaland

By  •  Reviews

It’s no secret I have a love/hate relationship with progressive rock. My most negative posts on The Rockhaq Community have targeted prog rock, such as my review of Yes’ bloated 1973 double album Tales From Topographic Oceans. Despite this, some of my all-time favourite music is prog. Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon and Yes’ Close to the Edge, for example, are both incredible progressive albums.
Read More

Album Review: Childish Gambino – Awaken, My Love
8
3 months ago

Album Review: Childish Gambino – Awaken, My Love

By  •  Reviews

I’ve written in some length about the many career paths of Donald Glover. To sum up, it seems like no matter what creative project he turns his hand to he’s consistently great at it, which is as infuriating as it is spellbinding. Under his alter ego Childish Gambino, Glover has enjoyed some success as a rapper with seven mixtapes, 2 EPs and a trio of studio albums under his belt. It’s on his third full-length album Awaken, My Love that Gambino reinvents himself.
Read More

Album Review: Pink Floyd – The Piper at the Gates of Dawn
10
5 months ago

Album Review: Pink Floyd – The Piper at the Gates of Dawn

By  •  Reviews

Pink Floyd are the beating heart of ’70s progressive rock. Easily the genre’s strongest songwriters and sincerest lyricists, Pink Floyd dialled down prog’s more pretentious tendencies to huge success. Iconic albums such as The Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here and The Wall secured the band a place in rock history rivalling The Beatles. This review, however, is set a little earlier. The year is 1967, long-time frontman David Gilmour won’t join the band until 1968 and experimental guitarist Syd Barrett – alongside bassist Roger Waters, keyboardist Richard Wright and drummer Nick Mason – is revolutionising rock music.
Read More