Image
ASK ABOUT OUR NEW ROCKHAQ ACADEMY PROGRAMME!

Reviews

Music reviews of bands and artists from Rockhaq

Album Review: Childish Gambino – Awaken, My Love
8
3 days ago

Album Review: Childish Gambino – Awaken, My Love

By  •  Reviews

I’ve written in some length about the many career paths of Donald Glover. To sum up, it seems like no matter what creative project he turns his hand to he’s consistently great at it, which is as infuriating as it is spellbinding. Under his alter ego Childish Gambino, Glover has enjoyed some success as a rapper with seven mixtapes, 2 EPs and a trio of studio albums under his belt. It’s on his third full-length album Awaken, My Love that Gambino reinvents himself.
Read More

Album Review: Pink Floyd – The Piper at the Gates of Dawn
10
1 month ago

Album Review: Pink Floyd – The Piper at the Gates of Dawn

By  •  Reviews

Pink Floyd are the beating heart of ’70s progressive rock. Easily the genre’s strongest songwriters and sincerest lyricists, Pink Floyd dialled down prog’s more pretentious tendencies to huge success. Iconic albums such as The Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here and The Wall secured the band a place in rock history rivalling The Beatles. This review, however, is set a little earlier. The year is 1967, long-time frontman David Gilmour won’t join the band until 1968 and experimental guitarist Syd Barrett – alongside bassist Roger Waters, keyboardist Richard Wright and drummer Nick Mason – is revolutionising rock music.
Read More

Album Review: Ariel Pink – Dedicated to Bobby Jameson
8
2 months ago

Album Review: Ariel Pink – Dedicated to Bobby Jameson

By  •  Reviews

In 2014, American lo-fi musician Ariel Pink released pom pom, his first album without the ‘Haunted Graffiti’ moniker. The 21st Century’s answer to Todd Rundgren’s 1973 gem A Wizard, a True Star, pom pom was sprawling, inventive and very very weird. Pink’s follow-up, Dedicated to Bobby Jameson, reins in the scatterbrained madness. In its place, however, is something more consistent, sincere and refined.
Read More

Album Review: Arcade Fire – Everything Now
8
3 months ago

Album Review: Arcade Fire – Everything Now

By  •  Reviews

I went into Arcade Fire’s fifth studio album not expecting much. Despite liking the singles, most reviews I read suggested this was an underwhelming effort from the Canadian art rock band. Admittedly, their 2013 release Reflektor received similarly mixed reviews and I love that album, but I was still lowering my expectations. As a result, I was pleasantly surprised. Everything Now may not be Arcade Fire’s best work, but it is still an undoubtedly excellent record.
Read More

Album Review: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Sketches of Brunswick East
9
3 months ago

Album Review: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Sketches of Brunswick East

By  •  Reviews

By this point, we’re all acquainted with the Melbourne psychedelic rock septet King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard. With two albums preceding Sketches of Brunswick East this year alone, their name graces new release pages frequently (and let’s face it, no one’s forgetting it in a hurry). Mild High Club, Gizz’s partner in crime on this record, is a less familiar name. The solo project of Los Angeles musician Alex Brettin, Mild High Club sounds like Mac DeMarco started writing for Steely Dan, with Todd Rundgren on production.
Read More

Single Review: Ennio Morricone – The Ecstasy of Gold
10
4 months ago

Single Review: Ennio Morricone – The Ecstasy of Gold

By  •  Reviews

Legendary Italian film composer Ennio Morricone is considered to be one of the most influential musicians of our generation. He’s composed over 500 film scores within his lifetime. His compositions have been in famous films such as The Thing and The Hateful Eight. However his most recognised pieces are from Sergio Leone’s spaghetti westerns: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly and A Fistful of Dollars.
Read More

Album Review: Tyler the Creator – Flower Boy
9
4 months ago

Album Review: Tyler the Creator – Flower Boy

By  •  Reviews

I often ask myself; why do famous people keep working? Once I earned a certain amount, I’d stop and become a private citizen and enjoy a stress-free life. Californian rapper/clothing line designer/tv star Tyler, the Creator seems to have had the opposite reaction to his abundance of success. Following the release of Wolf, the final album in a pre-planned trilogy that was six years in the making, Tyler hinted he was done with music.
Read More

Album Review: Paramore – After Laughter
9
4 months ago

Album Review: Paramore – After Laughter

By  •  Reviews

It hasn’t exactly been smooth sailing for Paramore over the past year. After going platinum with their self-titled album Paramore, bassist Jeremy Davis left. To make matters worse the band also had to settle a legal dispute with Davis over their funky tune Ain’t It Fun. So with only lead singer Hayley Williams and guitarist Taylor York remaining, surely it was time that they called it quits?
Read More

Album Review: Blink 182 – Self-Titled
8
4 months ago

Album Review: Blink 182 – Self-Titled

By  •  Reviews

There’s so much that can be said about Blink 182’s career. The scrappy trio of pop punk pioneers went from small clubs and basements to forgers of a whole new sub-culture. But there is an area of their career that doesn’t seem to spend much time in the spotlight. Their Self-Titled album.
Read More

Live Review: Muse – Budweiser Stage, Toronto, 18 July 2017
9
4 months ago

Live Review: Muse – Budweiser Stage, Toronto, 18 July 2017

By  •  Reviews

This year I got the opportunity to go to Canada. However one of the reasons why I’m in Toronto this summer is because of one band: Muse. A lot of my friends called me ‘crazy’ for travelling across the world to watch the Teignmouth space-rock trio perform for the ninth time. Muse are one of the few bands that I will keep going to see every time they announce a tour. This is because of the monumental shows that they put on.
Read More