Image
ASK ABOUT OUR UPCOMING ROCKHAQ ACADEMY PROGRAMME NOW!

Reviews

Music reviews of bands and artists from Rockhaq

Album Review: Ariel Pink – Dedicated to Bobby Jameson
8
3 hours ago

Album Review: Ariel Pink – Dedicated to Bobby Jameson

By  •  Reviews

In 2014, American lo-fi musician Ariel Pink released pom pom, his first album without the ‘Haunted Graffiti’ moniker. The 21st Century’s answer to Todd Rundgren’s 1973 gem A Wizard, a True Star, pom pom was sprawling, inventive and very very weird. Pink’s follow-up, Dedicated to Bobby Jameson, reins in the scatterbrained madness. In its place, however, is something more consistent, sincere and refined.
Read More

Album Review: Arcade Fire – Everything Now
8
4 weeks ago

Album Review: Arcade Fire – Everything Now

By  •  Reviews

I went into Arcade Fire’s fifth studio album not expecting much. Despite liking the singles, most reviews I read suggested this was an underwhelming effort from the Canadian art rock band. Admittedly, their 2013 release Reflektor received similarly mixed reviews and I love that album, but I was still lowering my expectations. As a result, I was pleasantly surprised. Everything Now may not be Arcade Fire’s best work, but it is still an undoubtedly excellent record.
Read More

Album Review: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Sketches of Brunswick East
9
1 month ago

Album Review: King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Sketches of Brunswick East

By  •  Reviews

By this point, we’re all acquainted with the Melbourne psychedelic rock septet King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard. With two albums preceding Sketches of Brunswick East this year alone, their name graces new release pages frequently (and let’s face it, no one’s forgetting it in a hurry). Mild High Club, Gizz’s partner in crime on this record, is a less familiar name. The solo project of Los Angeles musician Alex Brettin, Mild High Club sounds like Mac DeMarco started writing for Steely Dan, with Todd Rundgren on production.
Read More

Single Review: Ennio Morricone – The Ecstasy of Gold
10
2 months ago

Single Review: Ennio Morricone – The Ecstasy of Gold

By  •  Reviews

Legendary Italian film composer Ennio Morricone is considered to be one of the most influential musicians of our generation. He’s composed over 500 film scores within his lifetime. His compositions have been in famous films such as The Thing and The Hateful Eight. However his most recognised pieces are from Sergio Leone’s spaghetti westerns: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly and A Fistful of Dollars.
Read More

Album Review: Tyler the Creator – Flower Boy
9
2 months ago

Album Review: Tyler the Creator – Flower Boy

By  •  Reviews

I often ask myself; why do famous people keep working? Once I earned a certain amount, I’d stop and become a private citizen and enjoy a stress-free life. Californian rapper/clothing line designer/tv star Tyler, the Creator seems to have had the opposite reaction to his abundance of success. Following the release of Wolf, the final album in a pre-planned trilogy that was six years in the making, Tyler hinted he was done with music.
Read More

Album Review: Paramore – After Laughter
9
2 months ago

Album Review: Paramore – After Laughter

By  •  Reviews

It hasn’t exactly been smooth sailing for Paramore over the past year. After going platinum with their self-titled album Paramore, bassist Jeremy Davis left. To make matters worse the band also had to settle a legal dispute with Davis over their funky tune Ain’t It Fun. So with only lead singer Hayley Williams and guitarist Taylor York remaining, surely it was time that they called it quits?
Read More

Album Review: Blink 182 – Self-Titled
8
2 months ago

Album Review: Blink 182 – Self-Titled

By  •  Reviews

There’s so much that can be said about Blink 182’s career. The scrappy trio of pop punk pioneers went from small clubs and basements to forgers of a whole new sub-culture. But there is an area of their career that doesn’t seem to spend much time in the spotlight. Their Self-Titled album.
Read More

Live Review: Muse – Budweiser Stage, Toronto, 18 July 2017
9
2 months ago

Live Review: Muse – Budweiser Stage, Toronto, 18 July 2017

By  •  Reviews

This year I got the opportunity to go to Canada. However one of the reasons why I’m in Toronto this summer is because of one band: Muse. A lot of my friends called me ‘crazy’ for travelling across the world to watch the Teignmouth space-rock trio perform for the ninth time. Muse are one of the few bands that I will keep going to see every time they announce a tour. This is because of the monumental shows that they put on.
Read More

Single Review: Dave Brubeck – Unsquare Dance
9
2 months ago

Single Review: Dave Brubeck – Unsquare Dance

By  •  Reviews

I’ve always admired the complexity of jazz music. It’s one of those genres that constantly keeps me on the edge of my seat due to the intricate techniques that are involved, such as complicated time signatures, polyrhythms and improvisation. Jazz legend Dave Brubeck’s Unsquare Dance is one of the tunes that epitomises why jazz is such a cool but underrated genre.
Read More

Album Review: PVRIS – White Noise
8
2 months ago

Album Review: PVRIS – White Noise

By  •  Reviews

In recent years some bands have become fascinated with the concept of replacing the letter ‘A’ with ‘V’ in their names. Massachusetts electro-rock trio PVRIS (pronounced Paris) are one of the bands that have got on board with this rather bizarre trend. Initially starting out as a hardcore rock band, their debut album White Noise sees them in a completely different light.
Read More