Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Rockhaq Community | August 20, 2017

Scroll to top

Top

Reviews

Music reviews of bands and artists from Rockhaq

Single Review: Ennio Morricone – The Ecstasy of Gold

July 31, 2017 |

Legendary Italian film composer Ennio Morricone is considered to be one of the most influential musicians of our generation. He’s composed over 500 film scores within his lifetime. His compositions have been in famous films such as The Thing and The Hateful Eight. However his most recognised pieces are from Sergio Leone’s spaghetti westerns: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly and A Fistful of Dollars.Read More

Album Review: Tyler the Creator – Flower Boy

July 28, 2017 |

I often ask myself; why do famous people keep working? Once I earned a certain amount, I’d stop and become a private citizen and enjoy a stress-free life. Californian rapper/clothing line designer/tv star Tyler, the Creator seems to have had the opposite reaction to his abundance of success. Following the release of Wolf, the final album in a pre-planned trilogy that was six years in the making, Tyler hinted he was done with music.Read More

Album Review: Paramore – After Laughter

July 26, 2017 |

It hasn’t exactly been smooth sailing for Paramore over the past year. After going platinum with their self-titled album Paramore, bassist Jeremy Davis left. To make matters worse the band also had to settle a legal dispute with Davis over their funky tune Ain’t It Fun. So with only lead singer Hayley Williams and guitarist Taylor York remaining, surely it was time that they called it quits?Read More

Album Review: Blink 182 – Self-Titled

July 24, 2017 |

There’s so much that can be said about Blink 182’s career. The scrappy trio of pop punk pioneers went from small clubs and basements to forgers of a whole new sub-culture. But there is an area of their career that doesn’t seem to spend much time in the spotlight. Their Self-Titled album.Read More

Live Review: Muse – Budweiser Stage, Toronto, 18 July 2017

July 21, 2017 |

This year I got the opportunity to go to Canada. However one of the reasons why I’m in Toronto this summer is because of one band: Muse. A lot of my friends called me ‘crazy’ for travelling across the world to watch the Teignmouth space-rock trio perform for the ninth time. Muse are one of the few bands that I will keep going to see every time they announce a tour. This is because of the monumental shows that they put on.Read More

Single Review: Dave Brubeck – Unsquare Dance

July 20, 2017 |

I’ve always admired the complexity of jazz music. It’s one of those genres that constantly keeps me on the edge of my seat due to the intricate techniques that are involved, such as complicated time signatures, polyrhythms and improvisation. Jazz legend Dave Brubeck’s Unsquare Dance is one of the tunes that epitomises why jazz is such a cool but underrated genre.Read More

Album Review: PVRIS – White Noise

July 18, 2017 |

In recent years some bands have become fascinated with the concept of replacing the letter ‘A’ with ‘V’ in their names. Massachusetts electro-rock trio PVRIS (pronounced Paris) are one of the bands that have got on board with this rather bizarre trend. Initially starting out as a hardcore rock band, their debut album White Noise sees them in a completely different light.Read More

Album Review: King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard – Murder of the Universe

July 12, 2017 |

The Australian psychedelic septet King Gizzard & the Lizard Wizard are just as audacious as their name suggests. They have ten albums under their belt, spanning half as many years and incorporating twice as many genres. Garage rock, punk, prog, surf rock, jazz fusion, folk and Anatolian rock are merely a sprinkle of the sounds they offer. With Murder of the Universe, their second release of 2017, King Gizzard drastically move away from the relatively relaxed sounds of Flying Microtonal Banana. In its place is a conceptual, spoken word, doom metal/acid rock rampage.Read More

Live Review: Blink 182 – Nottingham Arena, 4 July 2017

July 10, 2017 |

Back in the summer of 2012 my life was complete when The Rockhaq Community awarded me tickets to see Blink 182 live. To this day I still feel like it’s a debt I can never repay because of how special that night was to me. Seeing those three pivotal figures perform right in front of me reminded me how important they were in my teenage years. Songs such as Feeling This gave me a taste of what rock music was all about.Read More

Live Review: Green Day – Hyde Park, London, 1 July 2017

July 4, 2017 |

Seven years ago I got the opportunity to see Green Day live at Wembley Stadium and it absolutely blew me away. Green Day will always be one of the most important bands in my life. Last year Amrita Garcha wrote a review on Green Day’s album American Idiot. It really drove the message home for me in terms of how important American Idiot’s role was for pop punk music in 2004. At the age of 15 I was still developing my obsession and appreciation for the rock genre and I remember the impact American Idiot made on me. It gave me an insight into the relentless nature of punk music.Read More